Thematic Exhibitions

Galerie Alain Bovis : "Cabinet of curiosities"

For Paris Tribal 2018, the gallery will present the exhibition “Cabinet de curiosités”. Alain Bovis and his guest Michel Thieme, will present items on the same theme. Exhibition “Cabinet of Curiosities” until May 19, 2018, from Tuesday to Saturday, 11h-13h / 14h30-19h.

Galerie Flak : "SEPIK - HOOKS, FIGURES & MASKS"

For Paris Tribal 2018, Galerie Flak is preparing an exhibition on the Sepik, with a particular focus on the Korewori.

Galerie Cédric le Dauphin : "SELECTION OF ANCIENT JEWELS AND PRECIOUS WEAPONS OF INDONESIAN COURTS"

For Paris Tribal 2018, the gallery will present a selection of antique jewelery and precious weapons from the Indonesian Courts.

Galerie Abla & Alain Lecomte : " Rongwe panels of the Ejagham of Nigeria"

For Paris Tribal 2018, Galerie Abla & Alain Lecomte will exhibit a rare collection of five panels from the Cross River region of Nigeria. These are Ejagham Rongwe panels, consisting of a large woven rattan bed – about one meter by one meter – on which are fixed various small skulls of animals, various “fetishes”, bones, gourds containing medicinal herbs… They were the emblems of the secret ngbe society, fixed in the sacred hut, where a fire was continually lit, which explains their patina of smoke. This exhibition will be accompanied by other pieces from Nigeria: Ejagham crest, and Ogboni fibulae, followed by a superb nineteenth century Bini idiophone.

Galerie Noir d'Ivoire : "Archaism in North Togo - Tchamba and Losso"

For Paris Tribal 2018, Galerie Noir d’Ivoire will present the exhibition “Archaism in North Togo – Tchamba and Losso”.

Galerie Pascassio Manfredi : "Gold of the Islands"

For Paris Tribal 2018, Galerie Pascassio Manfredi will present a thematic exhibition, “Gold of the Islands”, on gold and silver objects from South-East Asia.

Galerie Meyer : Oceania : a "Wild" art

For Paris Tribal 2018, Galerie Meyer will present a thematic exhibition on oceanic art

Galerie Lucas Ratton: Nancy Cunard

Presentation of the anthology of Nancy Cunard “NEGRO ANTHOLOGY”. Preview for this facsimile reprint of the 1934 book (then published in 1000 copies), which will only be available at the Lucas Ratton Gallery.

Galerie Nicolas Rolland : Ancient Arts of Africa and Oceania - engravings of André Breton

For this new edition of PARIS TRIBAL, Nicolas Rolland will present a set of unpublished engravings of André Breton made in 1949 on the island of Sein, exposed in parallel to a selection of ancient works from Africa and Oceania. An excellent opportunity to discover or rediscover the rich and fertile look of the surrealist artist, who collected and ardently defended his life during the creations of the so-called “primitive” peoples.

Voyageurs et Curieux

For Paris Tribal 2018, Voyageurs & Curieux will present its new acquisitions.

Expositions Thématiques

Galerie Alain Bovis : "Cabinet de curiosités"

Pour Paris Tribal 2018, la galerie présentera l’exposition « Cabinet de curiosités ». Alain Bovis et son invité Michel Thieme, présenteront des objets sur le même thème. Exposition « Cabinet de Curiosités » jusqu’au 19 mai 2018, du mardi au samedi, 11h-13h / 14h30-19h.

Galerie Flak : "SEPIK - CROCHETS, FIGURES & MASQUES"

Pour Paris Tribal 2018, la Galerie Flak prépare une exposition sur le Sepik, avec un focus particulier sur le Korewori.

Galerie Cédric le Dauphin : "SÉLECTION DE BIJOUX ANTIQUES ET D’ARMES PRÉCIEUSES DES COURS INDONÉSIENNES"

Pour Paris Tribal 2018, la galerie présentera une sélection de bijoux antiques et d’armes précieuses des Cours Indonésiennes.

Galerie Abla & Alain Lecomte : "panneaux rongwe des Ejagham du Nigéria"

Pour Paris Tribal 2018, la Galerie Abla & Alain Lecomte exposera une rare réunion de cinq panneaux de la région de la Cross River du Nigéria. Il s’agit de ces panneaux rongwe des Ejagham, constitués d’un fond de rotin tressé assez grand – environ un mètre sur un mètre – sur lequel sont fixés divers petits crânes d’animaux, « fétiches » divers, ossements, calebasses contenant des herbes médicinales… Ils étaient les emblèmes de la société secrète ngbe, fixés dans la case sacrée, où un feu était continuellement allumé, d’où leur patine de fumée. Cette exposition sera accompagnée d’autres pièces du Nigéria : cimier Ejagham, et fibules de la société Ogboni, suivis d’un superbe idiophone Bini datant du XIXe siècle.

Galerie Noir d'Ivoire : "Archaïsme au Nord Togo - Tchamba et Losso"

Pour Paris Tribal 2018, la Galerie Noir d’Ivoire présentera l’exposition « Archaïsme au Nord Togo – Tchamba et Losso ».

Galerie Pascassio Manfredi : "L'Or des Îles"

Pour Paris Tribal 2018, la Galerie Pascassio Manfredi présentera une exposition thématique, « L’Or des Îles », portant sur les objets en or et en argent d’Asie du Sud-Est

Galerie Meyer : Océanie : un art « Sauvage »

Pour Paris Tribal 2018, la Galerie Meyer présentera une exposition thématique sur l’art océanique

Galerie Lucas Ratton : Nancy Cunard

Présentation de l’anthologie de Nancy Cunard « NEGRO ANTHOLOGY ». Avant première pour la parution de cette réédition en fac-similé de l’ouvrage de 1934 (publié alors en 1000 exemplaires), qui ne sera disponible qu’à la galerie Lucas Ratton.

Galerie Nicolas Rolland : Arts anciens d’Afrique et d’Océanie – Gravures d’André Breton

Pour cette nouvelle édition de PARIS TRIBAL, Nicolas Rolland présentera un ensemble de gravures inédites d’André Breton réalisées en 1949 sur l’île de Sein, exposées en parallèle à une sélection d’œuvres anciennes d’Afrique et d’Océanie. Une excellente occasion de découvrir ou redécouvrir le regard riche et fertile de l’artiste surréaliste, qui collectionna et défendit ardemment sa vie durant les créations des peuples dits « primitifs ».

Voyageurs et Curieux

Pour Paris Tribal 2018, Voyageurs et curieux présentera ses nouvelles acquisitions.